Diet Days 72 & 73: Everyday I’m strugglin’

True to form with the last time I was unemployed (which sadly was this last holiday season), I find myself almost busier than I was while I was employed.  You know all those things you never have time to do?

Suddenly I’ve got a list- Fix this, clean that, revise this, post that, it goes on.  Most of it is self-imposed such as yesterday… It was “Pi” Day, or “Pie” Day (you know, Pi or π. The mathematical constant that is the ratio of a circle’s circumference to its diameter, and is approximately equal to 3.14159 – From the ever wonderful Wikipedia).  Started out as one pie, which then went to two and then three (augmented of course Pie in the Sky Apple Pie, Bananas Foster Pie and a Strawberry Pie based off StrawberryRhubarb Pie).   Sadly of the 3 types I only got to make two… times two. Two Apple Pies (with a splash of a bourbon reduction) followed up by a Strawberry Pie and a Strawberry Banana Pie. What can I say, the organic strawberries were on sale. And they called to me.

The pie subject aside, I’ve got to admit that I’m back to struggling with the diet.  Working at home with a full kitchen literally 5 feet away makes for difficult impulse control.  The only saving grace at the moment is the fact that we eat rather healthily at home. Tons of beans, veggies, and the like.  So while I haven’t been “shakes only” during the day, I’ve definitely been eating better than I could be. I’m determined though to keep as close to the shakes as possible.  Why? Because all things considered, they’re a lot easier to do than think about what I want to make/clean up after for three meals a day. One less thing to think about.

Workout-wise I’m completely on track for the week and looking forward to my workout tomorrow morning. That being said? Wednesday I feel like I may have brought down the energy in the room.  Something else that happened Wednesday is that I applied for unemployment.  Now its not a matter of shame or anything like that… Its pride, pure and simple.  I feel like applying for an receiving unemployment is a drain on the economy and an example that I’m not capable of taking care of myself… and well? I know better. I can contribute to society in meaningful ways…  It just so happens that my last two places of employment had layoffs and I was cut.  To me it feels like blood money. And while on one level it feels like I’ve failed on another it does a bit to strengthen my resolve in finding a new job.

Now if only puppy wouldn’t look at me with those huge eyes.

I think that’s about all I have in me for today. Cheer’s to those who put the title of today’s post to the song by LMFAO.

 

One thought on “Diet Days 72 & 73: Everyday I’m strugglin’

  1. Pingback: Day 100: Overcoming Struggles | Serial Sketch-Artist

Leave a Reply

