Diet Day 9: Bad Food Day

The funny thing about getting one meal a day is that you look forward to it being something you can savor. You really want each meal to be one that was worth the “sacrifice” of having to had drink the okay, but not great shakes all day long. Yesterday? I had a bad food day.

Dinner last night comprised of a little bit of left overs from the beef daube and what ended up being a green bean taco casserole mess. I don’t want to go too far into it, but lets just say, cheap cheese is evil (disgustingly evil), green beans are great as either a side, in a soup, or in a green bean casserole (and that’s pretty much it), and home-made tortilla chips with honey salt are a feast for the palette.  How good they were was a stark contrast to just how bad the main dish came out. Sadly, my expectations for the food I eat today is now higher as a result. Its supposedly a decent Japanese place that they’re taking us to for work… So we’ll see.

Anyways, as with most of my failed recipes, I know exactly how to fix it the next time, and oh… How I will fix it.

The other thing I’m going to do is make cheese sauce from sodium bisulfate (I think that’s it, let me double check), sharp cheddar, parmesan, and a red stripe.  It is horrible for you, but still tastier and healthier than any cheese sauce you’ll find in the store.

The other thing I noticed yesterday is that I struggled to actually finish my shakes. Nutritionally I make sure that at the very least I get my Meal Replacement shakes so that I’ve got my vitamins and minerals. But the extra protein shakes are important for keeping my body from going into starvation mode.  Having only had three shakes yesterday I was a little concerned at first, but then I ate and okay amount at dinner… honestly if it weren’t for the orange soda my partner made me (he has one of the those carbonating machines from a previous relationship), I probably would not have hit my calorie mark for the day.

While the hungry days may suck, I’m afraid of the “not wanting to eat” days more. Not being hungry when you’re satiated is a good thing… not being hungry is a whole, starvation mode, anorexic nightmare that I don’t want to get into.  I know I’m far from that and there are studies that say periodic fasting can actually be good for you, but all those studies also show a rapid shift in the metabolism to a “store as much fat as possible when you do eat” mode. That’s not what this boy wants.

Leave a Reply

