Diet Days 39-41: Super Weekend Carbotage Fun-Time (yay!)

I gave a preview to what I had in store this weekend, last Friday when life threw me a little bit of boring and I was able to enjoy some down time.  This weekend pretty much lived up to it’s predicted whimsy with carbohydrates (or carbs) a plenty.

Friday was okay, I only had two beers. Though there was the matter of cheese sauce and organic corn chips.

Saturday started out well enough (though the Yoga was replaced with playing Starcraft 2 with/against my boyfriend, which was fun in its own right 🙂 ), but I kept to my diet, did laundry, and ran a few errands. Then went out and celebrated my friend’s 29th birthday with bad American Chinese food and then drinks and munchies (its those fucking munchies). We played Munchkin which can be great (if you’ve got the right group of people, but I could see that we didn’t have that group), but after a bit I downloaded, printed, with the help of two other folks created a complete game of Card Against Humanity (if you haven’t played, its like a rude, mature version of Apples to Apples). Combined with a flour-less chocolate cave (covered in ganache and with vanilla chai ice cream… home made- Jealous?) Revelry was had by all.

Sunday? There was much cuddles, many snuggles, and a bit of sleeping in.  On top of that we cleaned, laundered and made Salted Caramel Brownies (based off this recipe), Armadillo Balls (check the details at the bottom of this post), White-chocolate Buttermilk Scones (based off this recipe, which by the way whole wheat pastry flour is… okay. But it will make scones that will taste heartily), and the fixed Hummus (from this post). All of this food was produced in the name of a pot-luck that happened after a fantastic 90 minute Yoga Stretch Class. And damn… I totally over-ate. Granted I had one shake on Sunday (I know, I know…) so the calories I consumed probably kept me on target. There is a problem though.

While the East Coast of the US got dumped on by snow this past weekend I feel like I got dumped on by carbohydrates. Between chips, scones, chips, munchies, brownies, dumplings, and crab rangoons… My ex put it well, “Carbotage” (the mix of carbohydrates and sabotage). Its easy to say “well just don’t eat”, but we’ve all been there. Cortez wasn’t even involved (sadly suggesting that I wasn’t hungry and confirming that I was just mindlessly eating). Its almost the mob mentality of social situations.  If there’s almost a subconscious hive-mind mentality that takes over.  With a bowl of tasty things sitting under your nose, you just start to eat without thinking.  Fortunately I kept my beer to one on Saturday Night (not because of the alcohol, but because of the carbs), but dang if I didn’t put away a few handfuls.

I think that’s a new addition to this diet. I’ve declared war on carbs already, but now I need to fight the good fight of the munchy. Until I’ve hit and maintained my goal weight (so, say November) I will not have any more chips, fried foods, nor munchies. Just like how pastries are an incredibly rare thing (say once a month). So much these be.

Dinner Last Night: Armadillo Balls (My own creation based off the idea behind Porcupine Balls)

Additions or Changes:

  • Instead of rice, I used 1 cup TVP and 1/2 cup Quinoa
  • I used fresh finely chopped rosemary, italian seasoning, minced garlic, and a dash of paprika
  • After you fry them, you bake them… In which I:
  1. Added two cans of red kidney beans (drained)
  2. Made a sweet tomato puree from 1 can of canned tomatoes combined with brown sugar, fresh rosemary and red pepper flakes
  3. Poured the puree over the meatballs and added a cup of chicken stock to bring the moisture level up and throwing a bit of salt and fresh ground black pepper on top
  4. Baked for two hours at 325…  removing the foil for the second hour to reduce the liquid and brown the top of the spheres.

Would I make it again? Heck yes, but increasing the brown sugar to about a half cup instead of the 1/4 cup I used.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

