Diet Day 57: When you Win Some, You Lose Some

On a whim, I weighed myself this morning.  Since I didn’t have a heavy dinner the night before I figured I’d be less weighed down by transitory calories (my new word for food). Low and behold I would see myself at the lightest I’ve been since 2005.

259lbs.

Hot damn if that doesn’t feel good.  I know the chances of losing 3 lbs in 24 hours is incredibly rare if not impossible so once again, I”m looking at either fluid or transitory calories to be to blame for yesterday’s weigh in. Regardless, I’ll take it.

Yesterday I made a mistake. Not in the diets scheme of things (ignoring the chocolate cake I made… and may have brought into work to remove all temptation), but in the financial/home remodel sense of things. Without boring you too much with the details. lets jsut say I made a purchase that resulted in me having 10x too much flooring because I made the simple mistake of dividing by inches, not inches squared.  I bring this up only because it is SO painful. how painful you ask? Well, by this act alone I’m out 20% cost on the flooring I purchased for a “restocking fee”.Ugh…  Now, I’m no slouch, and I did pretty damned all right in my Math Classes, but I think its time that I recognize my 10years-ish since my last math class might mean I should start double-checking with folks (like my awesome programmer partener) when I run (what could end up being expensive) area calculations.

You live and you learn. I just wish that learning wasn’t always so expensive (buh-zing at the US education system!)

Yesterday was an odd day, I kept forgetting to have my shakes and only ended up with 3 before heading home, continuing to work for a bit, then making dinner. It was a menagerie of leftover quiche, baked bean medley, and home made biscuits. Kind of a strange collection of southern inspired dishes… but not really southern in the end. The butter and honey on the biscuits nearly killed me with kindness though…

Yesterday was an interesting day and that’s the last I have to say.

Dinner Last Night: Leftover Quiche,  Baked Bean Medley (added a can of drained organic bean trio to a can of baked beans with an extra scoop of brown sugar), Two Ingredient Biscuits

Additions or Changes:

  • Instead of Heavy Cream, I did 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup Buttermilk

Would I make it again? Yup, though I need to make sure to add a 1/4 tsp of fine sea salt next time the texture was great, but the flavor needed a punch.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Simply Tia says:

    Keep going and pressing on towards your weight loss goal. Congrats on the good scale reading today!

    1. Donoghue says:

      Thanks! I’m definitely in this for the long haul. 57 days in is too much time spent to back down now.

      1. Simply Tia says:

        That’s right! That’s the attitude. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

