Day 11: Food

In this week’s take on “You know you’re a fat kid when…” It should come as no surprise, but I love food. I do.

As with most people who long-suffer largess (ha! I just came up with that turn of phrase… I love it), I struggle emotional eating, eating on a whim and especially when bored or simply thinking.  No surprise that a lot of this goes back to behaviors I developed when I was a child.  If you eat because of reason “x” you train your neural pathways to expect food whenever you do/feel act based off reason “x”.  Regardless of how your parents feed you (which I’d argue has a HUGE impact) and how amazing your skills at sneaking a cookie out of the cookie jar, its all the same. It trains your brain!  I like to think of it as a form of brainwashing (Also, I’m not blaming my parents by any means, I love them and know that I was a chubby and sneaky little child).

What this means is that when you set out to lose weight, you’re not only fighting physical cravings but also trying to retrain your brain.  That’s HUGE! Your brain has become accustomed to a chemical dose of whatever food when you are bored, lonely, etc…  When you don’t do that? You feel crummy.  One could equate it to a drug addiction, but with less immediate/drastic side-effects.

That being said. Last night I fought this craving. I really really did. And you know what? I won.  It sucks and will probably take a good chunk of time (a year? 18 months?) for me to retrain my brain.

I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again.  I’m in this for the long haul.

For the last time.

I worked out yesterday and for dinner made a mesquite tomato chicken melange, over quinoa and lentil with grilled asparagus on the side.

Another good day.

Dinner Last Night: 

  • Mesquite Tomato Chicken (pan-fried chicken then added the sauce bits and simmered)
  • Quinoa and Lentils cooked with Miso
  • Grilled Asparagus with cracked pepper

Additions or Changes:

  • One of my own

Would I make it again?

  • Not cooking the quinoa and the lentils together again, but beyond that, definitely.
Leave a Reply

