Day 44: Moderation & Validation

on

As I mentioned yesterday, my weight was more than likely influenced by the diet on the boat and certain, disinterest from my body in its willingness to perform certain functions.  Without going into too much detail, I feel comfortable mentioning that after feeling better yesterday, I weighed myself this morning and I came in at 258.7lbs. Now, either I’m amazing and literally lost almost 2 lbs in a single night or my body made great strides to re-regulating itself. After all, if you take care in what you eat and make sure that you keep your weigh-in environment consistent you’re likely to be able to trust your results.

I’m going to weigh-in tomorrow as well just for giggles. I think there’s a decent chance my body is still getting its groove back on.

Yesterday was largely a working day and last night, a working night.  Recently I’ve taken to using a project management tool called Asana. Its pretty damned spiffy.  Since as long as I can remember, I’ve had ideas. For stories, for software, for inventions… and I’ve rarely/hardly acted upon these ideas.  Since I’m 29 and I ain’t getting any younger, I’ve decided to put an end to that. Not that I need another project in my life right now, but I want to build out, and allow some of my ideas to flourish (or at the vary least exist regardless of what other people think).  So expect some sketches from that first project here over the next few months…  Though there’s already a sketch or seven of some of the characters on here. 😉

Food and Diet-wise.  I only got three shakes in and then two slices of pizza.  Oh shush. I know it was wrong, but I was physically starving and we didn’t have any fruit I can eat (I’ve got an apple allergy sadl- I know right? How freaking unfair is that?!).  Dinner ended up being about 3.5 hours after the two slices of pizza and it was a melange of collards with bok choy over a tvp/black bean mix with spices and chicken broth. Top it all off with balsamic caramelized onions, parmesan, and some roasted tomatillo sauce.  I was concerned about the flavors at first, but ultimately… it worked. Boy was it a surprise that it worked (I know I am so weird, haha). But it was so nourishing and tasty!  I mean, the caramelized onions were perhaps the worst thing on there… but with only a tablespoon’s worth and about the same of shredded parm? That’s a well balanced veggie/fiber/protein heavy meal.

Now before guilt or whatever sets in, I’ll admit it.. The pizza was definitely not planned. But as with all the other times I’ve “cheated” (I don’t consider it cheating, just rather not being as efficient as I can be), I’ve taken care to achieve a sense of moderation. Healthy living doesn’t mean not enjoying horrible foods, not denying horrible things.  It means eating more of the good things more often so that when you eat a cookie or pasta, it isn’t the end of the world. Its not like I gorged on an entire pizza (those were the days my friend… oh high school/college), right? I could have had my last shake, but I know from experience that it wouldn’t have been enough for me to make it to dinner.  3 hours is about my max without starting to feel a drop in blood sugar. I wanted pizza, so I had two pieces.

Moderation and validation!  After all, when I hit my goal; what the heck am I going to do? Start eating whatever I want again? NO. I’m going to eat within a caloric range and continue working out, monitoring my weight and activity to ensure that I don’t start creeping up into the unhealthy levels again. These shakes aren’t intended to be forever. Just a means to an end. 🙂

One last thing. I found my Fitbit. Turns out it was with me the whole weekend. And… I’m a dork.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

