Day 53: Of Progress

20130607-092241.jpg Yesterday was a mostly brilliant day. Work has been moving as such that I got to go home at 3 (which is still a 7.5 hour day for me), though as a result I was able to water the garden towers (pictured to the left) and play with my puppy and even take my handsome bearded boyfriend out for a walk in the park. I brought my camera and snapped a couple shots of some little Duck families and smaller blackbird with a shock of red on its wings. Gorgeous. Anywho, the sun was out and so were the muscle boys with their shirts off and I swear I want to be one of them. I really do. Not the neanderthal part, but building my own body to look like that. The problem is, I just don’t know if I’m meat-headed enough to workout until my triceps and pecs both are the size OF my head. But then I’m getting ahead of myself (so many references to head, one could think this was an adult blog yeesh). Let’s drop pounds until I’m a healthy weight for the first time since I was 4, sound good?

Good.

Last night we had a fresh salad (arugula, kale, broccoli greens, mustard greens) plucked from our garden towers and had that combined with some seasoned ground beef and leftover (and re-seasoned) okonomiyaki. Tons of veggies and a chunk of protein, all in all? It was a great dinner… There was only one problem. We were both hungry again in about an hour or so. So I had a Zevia soda and my boyfriend had tea. We fought off the craving to eat… SOMETHING (well okay, we had 3 strawberries in the fridge and we had those as a snack and I wouldn’t call a single strawberry (40-80 calories a desert). But it was ridiculous. There’s no good reason for the two of us to become that hungry after eating a complete meal! Yargh.

My thought on the matter is that its purely psychological. Since I rebooted this diet, I’ve been horrible about portion control in the evening and I think I need to suffer the manufactured hunger pains for a week or two until my body stops expecting more food at dinner time. Same thing as when I started the shakes in the first place. I was moody and grumpy and hungry as the dickens during the day. If I keep my portions down it is amazing how quick I’ll shed the weight (all theory of course. It could turn out I’m half walrus and meant to have the this layer of blubber to protect me while I swim the arctic waters near Alaska). Additionally, I’m determined to get into a walking habit on the days I’m not working out. Yesterday was just too amazing not to make it a habit. 🙂

Finally, it appears I’m still suffering a bit from the sudden stomach ache syndrome of the past few days. But I swear yesterday was better than the previous two days. Perhaps I’m getting used to it? Who’s to know. I guess we’ll see how today (Friday) goes. Admittedly? I’m a bit worried for the weekend… I’m making strawberry jam. I’m probably going to have to gift most of it away… (I’m a terrible person, I know).

By the by? Morning weigh-in was 257.6 lbs. *happy dance*

Days since I’ve eaten…

  • Ice Cream or other Desert: 5
  • Deep Fried food: 6
  • A Carb-focused meal: 5
Leave a Reply

