Day 86: Kickstart in the Rear

on

Two days down and I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck (though only figuratively and not literally like my runner/bicycling Portland based older brother). Last night was my younger brother’s and wife’s birthdays (7 days apart). A simple enough affair filled with BBQ, presents and my mother’s cupcakes (the Portland brother is sore, but fine by the way). What did I eat? No, not cupcakes. You know you were a fat kid when you find that you can justify the one cupcake as not being “that bad” for you. After all, it’s only one. Instead I had a half a steak, a decent portion of potato salad (from scratch! thank you dear boyfriend) and a small ear of corn.  All in all it was definitely within the newer, smaller, “one bowl” portion size I’m attempting to tango with.

Prepositional endings aside, the whole being hit by a truck feeling isn’t from my sudden shift in diet, more that I’m pretty sure its from the workout. I mean, don’t get me wrong. A great workout is a great workout. But I’m thrashed from Monday, no if’s ands or butts about it. Historically, Monday’s have been the hardest workout of the week and while this week’s was no exception… Darn if it wasn’t just a touch harder due to the heat (a balmy 85 degrees). Combine this with my only recently getting over the ear ache thing (mostly) and well- Darn it.

So it probably is partly due to my stricter shift in my diet.  Just like when I started this thing way back in January and then rebooted in April, my stomach has to shrink again. Not only that but I’m now fighting 6-7 months of psychological self-programming that I get a ton of food for dinner. Double-dutch darn.

I’ve just got to hold on. If this hungry feeling lasts as long as when I started this whole thing- The first week is the roughest, but by the end of the second week I should have readjusted. Gonna be a bit of a struggle til then though. I know its working since my partner says I smell like old people again which was the sign that I was achieving ketosis before, so that’s a good sign (if not an awkward smelling one). 🙂

Tonight’s agenda? Workout then sleep.

Goals for the Week

  • Workout 3 times
    • Monday!
  • Go for at least two significant walks
  • Portion control your food (1/1)
    • Monday: Win! One bowl and glucomannan for the win.
    • Tuesday: Win! Half a steak, small ear of corn and a decent, but not large helping of homemade potato salad

Days since I’ve eaten…

  • Ice Cream or other Desert: 3
  • Deep Fried food: 5
  • A Carb-focused meal: 2
  • Too many helpings: 2
Leave a Reply

