Day 101: On Aloha

on

A Quick read on the etymology of Aloha.  There was a Hawaii before Elvis Presley, ya know.

I’m gonna try to document my trip, but as anyone who’s ever taken a vacation knows- At the end of the day? You’re usually popped from all the relaxation you’ve had. 🙂 That being said, I’m going to miss my partner a whole lots.  Not to gush, but I really do wish he was able to come with and enjoy the time off with me. Next time. There’s always the next time.

One of my goals while in Hawaii is to actually have a fruity little beverage with an umbrella in it each and every day that I’m there. I don’t think this is going to be that difficult, but when you’re a 6’5″ monster people tend to have certain expectations. Such as, “He can drink you under the table!” “Two shots? That’s nothing, you’re a big guy you can take it.” And “You stepping on me?”

Okay, okay. So that last one has a lot more to do with the fact that I seem to inspire “little man” syndrome in some insecure men. Especially when they’re slightly inebriated and are looking to prove themselves or some such rot. I understand chivalry and honor, but stupidity still baffles me and makes me laugh (or causes me to be scared) more often than not.  I’ve never been a large bar person as a result of some early encounters with this issue. It just wasn’t in me to deal with the stupid and to have to PAY to deal with the stupid. I’ve largely had great success when going out on occasion in my later adult life. Friends, fun, no injuries, no alcohol poisoning, just dancing and passing out and then dealing with the jackhammer in my skull from the scant 3-4 drinks I had from the night before (what I want to know is what happened to my Irish genes?).

The goal in Hawaii is to relax. There will be drinks, sunshine, trails, drinks, lounging, an authentic (I’m hoping) Hawaiian Luau (None of that Fire spinning stuff, I want to learn more about the actual Hawaiian culture) and no reason to anywhere I don’t want to. It will be a vacation.

As for yesterday? I broke down and bought a new pair of pants.  I realized that the pair I’d been wearing were getting more and more comical with each passing day. They were/are big and floppy and reminded me of clown-pants. Ridiculous.

So I went to Macy’s found some atrociously trendy  jeans (as well as shorts and a shirt), and bought ’em. Damn does my ass look good. This is one of those “Aha, the diet does work!” moments. I’m sure its not a unique frame of mind- When you diet you realize that your clothes are getting looser, but you didn’t actually try on smaller clothes yet for fear you haven’t lost that much weight- Well damn.  I’m pretty excited!  I’m in a pair of 36 x 32’s and the waist even has extra room. The legs are actually pretty well formed to my legs and I’m- Well, I’m about to cry really. Haha, I don’t know if its because I’ve never really stuck with a diet this long, or the fact that the rest of my life is amazing (thanks in large part to my boyfriend) or if its the support and a mix of all of the above. But I’m pretty much happy enough that I could cry right now. Life is good. And good choices are helping to make it that way.

That being said (collects ones self), yesterday was a good day. We had cucumber salad, bbq chicken potato hash thing I cooked up in Avocado oil and cantaloupe. All after getting a pretty good workout (Bootcamp Yoga in 85 degrees is hell, just in case you were wondering).

Goals this Week

  • Workout 3 times:
    • Monday! Ow…
    • Wednesday: Owie… at 85+ degrees.
  • Go for at least two significant walks:
    • Tuesday! 2-3 miles near the house
  • Portion control your food (0/3)
    • Monday: Fail. Damn you pint blueberries and the black-hole stomach.
    • Tuesday: Fail. Tacos… Two servings instead of one. I was starving… again.
    • Wednesday: Win! I had a half bowl of the chicken with a few bites otherwise. Cataloupe and some cucumber- Wait that sounds like a fail… Hm…Fail. Damnit.

Days since I’ve eaten…

  • Ice Cream or other Desert: 10
  • Deep Fried food: 3
  • A Carb-focused meal: 2
  • Too many helpings: 0
Leave a Reply

