Day 116: Another Good Day

It occurred to me while titling this post that I could potentially begin a string of “Another Good Day” titles on a series of “Good Day” Posts.  It would be interesting from a future perspective in order to quickly track how many good days I have in a row.

Ya know? That’s not a bad idea. 

In case you haven’t guessed, I don’t exactly plan most of the posts that are on here.  In fact it is a goal of mine to use a style of writing (with little asides) similar to  the flow of conscious thought.  At least my thought process.  Which I’d like to think is somewhat similar to  (if not, at least inspired by) the writing style of Douglas Adams.  I do love that man’s books just ever so much.

While I’m a fan and listen to audio books on my commute, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a big reader.  I adore stories, but when it comes to actual reading? One of my biggest failures (personal opinion here) is my inability to read quickly.  I recognized that I was a slow reader as early as 4th grade when I timed a classmate sitting directly in front of me who seemed to be reading a page a minute. And as it turns out, at least according to my Casio Calculator Watch’s Timer, I was right. She could zip through one of the Young Adult novels we read back then (and occasionally now) in a night if she wanted. I’ve still not achieved this level of speed reading.  I can skim like the best of them, but for reason when I become immersed in a story and picture the characters and scenes happening around my like I’m some ariel sprite observing, but not interacting, I just… slow down. My reading slows to a snails pace and while i can recount what happened with great detail, it means I make it through about 50 or so pages at most in a sitting.

In a career that’s spent building designs based off requirements you’d think this would be a hurdle.  Fortunately save for the documentation I create? It’s generally understood that any requirements from other folks will be provided explicitly and audibly.  Its just my job to tell the appropriate people I don’t know what they want until they figure it out. If I don’t know what problem I’m solving or who I’m designing for or even just what the inspiration for having the designer involved is… it’s rather hard to design with meaning.  Welcome to the design process in most big businesses.

By this point you’re probably wondering when I’m going to talk about the diet. Well, as I mentioned at the beginning, yesterday was another good day. I worked out, made pan-fried green tomato/broccoli cheddar fritters and seasoned ground turkey with grilled onions. Very, very tasty.  There was also painting and cleaning and prep-work.  I have a grad school friend and her husband coming over this weekend, and while the house is still far from being put together, its a heck of a lot better looking than it was. 

The one trick is of course is that they’re visiting for the weekend. I’ve had two good days. I need to keep this momentum going meaning, I want to report on Monday that Friday, Saturday and Sunday were good days as well. So, Even though I’m sure that I will be eating out a decent amount this weekend, I will go as few carbs as possible.  Make my best attempt to avoid deep fried foods and the sugary sweets of tasty drinks and desserts.  

I can do this. This time for the last time.

Here’s to Monday reporting on a Triplicate Good Day.

Goals for the Week

  • Workout 3 times:
    • Monday!
    • Wednesday!
    • Thursday!
  • Do at least 3 significant cardio activities:
    • Tuesday: Bicycle for 30 minutes
  • Portion control your food (2/4)
    • Monday: Fail.  It was a big plate for dinner. Four pieces of Burschetta + the Black Bean Burger Patty and whatever I nibbled on while building it.
    • Tuesday: Super Fail. Sushi… Chocolate Croissant and 1/3 a pint of half baked Ben & Jerry’s.
    • Wednesday: Win! Open face Ruben with soup and cherry tomatoes.
    • Thursday: Win! Green Tomato/Broccoli Fritters and Onions with Herbs ground turkey

Days since I’ve eaten…

  • Ice Cream or other Dessert: 2
  • Deep Fried food: 4
  • A Carb-focused meal: 2
  • Too many helpings: 2

 

Leave a Reply

