Days 124 – 127: When Interviewing, Make sure to Sleep

I’m sure that I’m not the first person on the planet to feel the pang of annoyance when it comes to being a “second class” employee or “contractor”.  Sure there are several benefits to enjoy. You’re more costly health insurance, your combined sick/vacation days, your lack of being invited to anything that has to do with community or team…  Of course that’s if you’ve got any form of benefits at all.

“Oh, but you don’t have to drink the company kool-aid”

“You’re lucky, you have the freedom to do what you want”

“But you get paid so much more!”

Bull-honky.

I’ve been contracting for the better part of 5 years now, and I’m kinda tired of it. That’s not to say that I feel I’ve been poorly compensated or that I’m upset with my choice of projects to work on.  I’ve been really lucky actually.  My jobs have been pretty decent and at most the places I’ve worked I’ve been surrounded by some pleasant and down-right enjoyable people. 🙂

My beef.  My raw, muscled beef with the situation is that it isn’t consistent.  You get a year if you’re lucky and then the boot.  I’ve interviewed (and admittedly been employed) since June of 2008 pretty consistently.

I’m just tired of interviewing.

I decided that this year I’d had enough, if my next contract was good or great… I’d pursue a Full time Job there like it was going out of style. Queue the end of May.  I dip my toe in the water and start asking if there’s anything coming up or available in the team.  A few weeks later I hear that there is, and I start approaching the Full timer’s individually.  To bring this social tale to a close, I’ve been brought in to interview for a position that I know I can do and do well.  At most major tech companies the last round of interviews are known as an “Interview Loop”.  What this means is that (usually) in the span of one day they’ll bring you in for a portfolio review and then 4-6 1:1 interviews.  Somehow I’ve landed 8 1:1 interviews over two days.  I’m not gonna complain, if I need to razzle-dazzle I’ll just have to shine them out of the room.

That being said.  Yesterday, my first day of interviews went well.  I finish up tomorrow, with an odd day of reprieve in between.  The only issue I ran into yesterday was the fact that I slept maybe 2-3 hours the night before.  While I don’t recommend this for most people- For me?  I ran on pure adrenaline. And historically… this has worked in my favor.  The trick is when I start to slow down and that usually occurs around 3pm.  I do well on a regular nights sleep, but for me… Its amazing what happens when I stop thinking just start doing. Apparently my gut reactions are good when it comes to business.  This leaves my mind free to wander.

Haha. I’ll leave that there just so everyone can think what they will as to where my mind goes.

Diet-wise this weekend was great. I ate so little and didn’t really mind.  Joel is master of the kitchen now… Mostly. I still seem to be cooking off and on, but for the better part he mandates what is made and how much I eat. I’m being a bit stubborn, but really… Its food and I need to not care as much.  He makes tasty things.  The best phrase I’ve read that folks seem to be throwing around these days is “Eat to live, don’t live to eat”. I mention it as somehow it has become my mantra.

I worked out on Saturday, but not on Monday (for what should be obvious sleep-related reasons). This week I’m looking to enjoy a pretty standard week. Though there is a meal tonight and possibly tomorrow night… And then a birthday on Saturday and BBQ on Monday…  Oy. Life. You never slow down.

Tonight a walk (with dogs!) Hopefully I can kick this diets ass so my shake only nightmares of October don’t become a reality.

Summary of Goals for Last Week

  • Workout 3 times: Win!
    • Wednesday
    • Thursday
    • Saturday
  • Do at least 3 significant cardio activities: Fail…  What’s been going on here? Fixin’ this I’ll tell ya.
    • Saturday: Walked through Ikea… This is always cardio.
  • Portion control your food (5/8) Because of screwed up posting times…
    • Monday: Fail.  Oh… Ice Cream, cookies, a healthy dinner after that, but damn.  It was binge night of stress.
    • Tuesday: Fail. Bagel after work, then Biscuits & Caprese Salad with Red Cabbage Soup.
    • Wednesday: Failing with style.  Bring on the binge, fortunately it was baked, mostly black bean chips… but still.
    • Thursday: A big old win. Lean turkey, beans, carrot and squash with the spices.  Delish.
    • Friday: Win Elysian, pumpkin beer and pulled pork. No bun, salad as the side with a wasabi vinegarette dressing Delish.
    • Saturday: Win Indian…  Lamb Masala, no rice, a bit of naan. And then two pieces of pizza and a handful of chips.
    • Sunday: Win Corn Beef Hash, left most of the potatoes and all the hashbrowns in tact on the plate, four pieces of fruit, two bowls of cabbage soup, and one bowl of ground turkey squash melange.  This all took place between 10 am and 2am the following morning.  I’d say a win even it looks like a lot. 🙂
    • Monday: Win Two shakes… And then the mandatory interview lunch Chicken Club, no cheese (and fries… they were too quick for me to ask for a salad 😦 and of course I ate some, not all &didn’t finish my sandwich) And then a bowl of Joel’s Minestrone soup/melange and he gave me a piece of protein powder-added Banana Bread.  Love him.

Days since I’ve eaten…

  • Ice Cream or other Dessert: 0 Banana Bread
  • Deep Fried food: 0
  • A Carb-focused meal: 2
  • Too many helpings: 5 <- YEAH!
Leave a Reply

