Day 142: Of Reunions and Sleep

I think my body has already shifted for the time change.  I don’t know why, but my mind just isn’t shutting down before 11:30PM.  So I spend about an hour in bed reading articles on my phone until I can’t quite keep my eyes open… Then fall asleep.

It’s the darndest thing.

Warm Milk is out (thanks to allergies), drugging myself is out (as I don’t want to develop a dependence on any form of sleep aid) and I wake up before 7AM everyday and don’t take a nap nor drink caffeine.  So, what is there to do? I guess I could start planning my nightly reads and make the time a little more productive. Hm… That sounds good.  Perhaps I’ll just pick out a good book.

Yesterday in specific however was a reunion with an old friend.  I met up with a guy that I’ve known since… I think we were 3. I distinctly remember meeting him at Sunday School back when we were but wee ones. We ended attending grade school and high school together.  Not best friends or anything like that mind you, but a good guy that was a constant in my life for a long time. Joel and I met up with him at Din Tai Fung (juicy pork dumplings anyone?) and I got a chance to meet his adorable daughter and beautiful wife.  They are a hoot.  Good food and a good time catching up.

Beyond that the evening was really chill.  I received a copy of Kingdom Hearts HD Remix in the mail and… yeah. That got consumed in my PS3.  All I have to say is “wow”.  Its prettier and thank god for some nostalgia, because the game is horrible. I mean really , really bad.  The collision detection is horrible and the camera issues while better, aren’t fixed.  And man… Does this game suffer from pacing issues and a less than stellar localization.

In the end? Its cute.  I’m gonna play it just to catch back up on the story, but damn. Its gonna be a like pulling teeth the whole way.

Diet-wise, it was a 3 shake + fruit and dinner day.  Dinner was delicious… Salty, but delicious.  There wasn’t a workout, which was kind of a shame, especially since today is threatening a 90+ degree temperature which means that I’m hunkering down in my AC cooled house only venturing out for Taco Festivities at a friends house around 8pm when its firmly in the 80’s.

Heat exhaustion? No thank you.  Tonight, I might take a melatonin for my one a week, but I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Goals for the Week

  • Workout 3 times: 
    • Monday
  • Do at least 3 significant cardio activities: 
  • Portion control your food (1/1)
    • Monday: Win-ish Not completely on program, but still good.
    • Tuesday: Fail I had a lot of food at Din Tai Fung. I think the Taro Bun pushed me over the limit though.

Days since I’ve eaten…

  • Ice Cream or other Dessert: 3
  • Deep Fried food: 3
  • A Carb-focused meal: 4
  • Too many helpings: 0

 

Leave a Reply

