Days 143 & 144: When You’re Addicted to Pumpkin

Hi. My name is Patrick and I’m Pumpkin-holic.

Since about 2004… that’s the earliest I can remember back with any absolute certainty.  I’ve loved pumpkin.  Before that, there were definitely signs, such as my favorite color in high school being orange, my ambition for carving the best the most intricate jack o’lantern (at least, within the family), and the fact that I would always devour pumpkin pie…  Well, to be fair, a lot of people wouldn’t have a qualm with that last bit.

Anywho, In 2004 I lived in Australia for a semester and it was there that I truly discovered my love of most things squash.  The wife of the then governor of Queensland had a thing for pumpkins which influenced the whole region.  You know what I discovered? As a (then) vegetarian the cafeteria would bake it, roast it, bbq it, puree it, put it in a soup, make a shmear out of it or even make a drink out of the juice.  I love me some pumpkin!  But it doesn’t stop there-  I’m sure you’re all familiar with starbucks pumpkin spice latte? Well guess what I bought almost $150 dollars worth of in 2005?  That’s right, this guy.

After spending my time in Australia I became fascinated with all manner of pumpkin.  I discovered and created recipes to make pumpkin pie that still had the texture of the squash in it (love it), I made soups and breads and of course bought the $6 Costco pumpkin pies…  Its no real wonder why I was as big as I was, just thinking about this… But yes. You get the idea.  I love pumpkin.

Well, this morning I performed the diet unforgivable.  I had a Pumpkin Spice Latte. Admittedly it was a half-calf, soy, no whip, half flavor Venti Pumpkin Spice Latte, but still.  My guilt was assuaged by the delicious pumpkin and cinnamon flavors of my favorite season. Fall. 🙂 To make matters worse I discovered that Costco now has a Pumpkin Seed Tortilla chip with both pumpkin and its seeds baked right in the damn chips!!  The ingredient list is amazing and so I feel less bad (though carbs, damn you carbs) than I should, but still…  THEY WERE SO GOOD.  And now these flavorful mix of sweet and savory sit in my cupboard at home.  Waiting to see what sauces I can make this weekend to accompany them.

Do you hear that? That’s the sound of fall and winter baked goods coming.  I’m thinking I might need to ensure that I’m getting in a daily workout from now to December just to make sure I keep on top of any invading baked goods.  Sigh…  This weekend’s project might just be to gather the bowflex from my Mom’s house and put in the room with the stationary bike upstairs.  Get some cardio and weightlifting in on the days I don’t want to/can’t stand the heat of the gym.   You know, wail on my pecs, rip a couple bicep curls  *snort*, manly things.  (haha)

The moral of this pumpkin tale is that of all the foods I could be addicted to? I’m happy its such a nutritious and versatile one.  I’m not gonna change it, but rather revel in it. After all, the Pumpkin Beer Festival is just around the corner.

From a diet perspective, These past two days have been a grab bag of very good and very bad. For example, Wednesday night I didn’t work out (due to the 90+ degree temperature), but I did have a dinenr that consisted of organic multigrain chips topped with black beans, salsa and homemade guacamole.  Great right? Well the taco plate (as I’m calling it) was at a friends place and a precursor to sitting around a campfire as kind of a “end of summer” deal. This meant of course my first and last s’more of the summer. Why? Because I wanted one at least once this summer.

Then yesterday I ended up only getting down two shakes, and had a small single scoop of sorbet at a “meet and greet” at work to talk with my co-workers in a more casual setting. This was followed by a pretty good workout and then a dinner that was all pan roasted veggies, boiled beets and then two salmon patties. Perfect!  Except the portion was a little high. And I ate the last three scoops of Guac because it was going to go bad anyhow.

See what I mean? Not bad, just not great.  My weight this morning was 249.2 lbs. Some of which I’m sure is water-weight, but still not the right direction.  Le sigh…  There’s always an excuse to eat poorly or too much, isn’t there? From August 1st at 254.6 lbs to today at 249.2 lbs (almost a 1lb a week). And that’s still progress.  Not to mention my muscles are getting better every day.  My shoulders are finally to a point where I can almost do a proper head stand. 🙂

I might not being going as fast as humanly possible, I’ve got an amazing partner in crime life, and I’m making progress. Life is good.

Goals for the Week

  • Workout 3 times: 
    • Monday
    • Thursday
  • Do at least 3 significant cardio activities: 
  • Portion control your food (3/4)
    • Monday: Win-ish Not completely on program, but still good.
    • Tuesday: Fail I had a lot of food at Din Tai Fung. I think the Taro Bun pushed me over the limit though.
    • Wednesday: Win-ish! Taco plate is amazing.
    • Thursday:  Win-ish! Veggies veggies veggies! With two salmon patties. A bit on the larger side, but still okay.

Days since I’ve eaten…

  • Ice Cream or other Dessert: 0
  • Deep Fried food: 5
  • A Carb-focused meal: 6
  • Too many helpings: 0
Leave a Reply

