Day 4 – First Shiny/Drunk Pokemon Ever Caught – Lugia

Doing the 30 Day Pokemon Challenge… Check out my blog for the full list (https://serialsketcher.wordpress.com/2013/10/07/a-stupid-challenge/)

Day 4: Your First Shiny/Drunk Pokemon you ever Caught

So there’s a story here.  When the original Pokemon Silver/Gold came out. I had Silver. I went through the game and played my way to Lugia. When it appeared there was a weird sparkle animation and its colors were Magenta instead of purple. Well I fought and captured, but was annoyed with myself that I’d used my Master Ball so instead of saving, I reloaded my save.  I was such a nerd in the day that this was about three days after the game had launched and shiny pokemon were generally an unknown. Red Gyarados withstanding, the idea that you could capture a shiny pokemon in the wild wasn’t really in wide circulation.

So now I refer to them as “drunk” rather than shiny. My little way of making amends for the stupidity of my youth.A quick 10 minute sketch. With touch-up in Photoshop 🙂

Fanart of the Pokemon character, Shiny (Drunk) Lugia.  Shiny Pokemon are an alternate color and there for rare and for some reason more powerful.
Fanart of the Pokemon character, Shiny (Drunk) Lugia. Shiny Pokemon are an alternate color and there for rare and for some reason more powerful.
Leave a Reply

